Some kind of metaphor

Posted: 05/05/2013 in Uncategorized

One half of a duplex near my place contains a constantly barking dog. The other half contains a guy yelling at the dog to shut up. He’s yelling so loud you can hear him from the street. I haven’t been counting, but this has been going on for quite a long time. I don’t know what is on the guy’s mind. He can’t seriously expect the dog to shut up, especially if his disembodied screaming voice hasn’t affected any change already. All I can think is that his and the dog’s behavior are almost exactly the same, and they’re probably both extremely frustrated and/or scared, and they’re both taking it out on each other. A dog and a man wailing at each other, two broken animals wallowing in their own unsuccessful attempts to navigate their society. 

I get the feeling shit like this has been happening since the beginning of time.

Today is OSU commencement and I’ve tried to take 2 different pedicabs out on campus, one of which was broken when I took it, while the other was broken by the end. People giving me money to shuttle them around in a hilarious vehicle is clearly not happening today. So I’m spending my time trying to find a new day-job, because another thing that’s not happening today (or any day) is my current one jiving smoothly with my boylesque-dancing, bullshit-writing fairy-life.

That dog can’t possibly bark forever, no matter how scared he is.

Leave a Reply

