Rust belt snakes

Posted: 04/27/2013 in Uncategorized

Thanks to a number of people, I am currently in Buffalo, NY rather than sitting in my room listening to the Gaslight Anthem cover of “Even Cowgirls Get the Blues” on repeat. First time in this town and were it not for certain sentimental and logistical concerns, I would seriously consider just staying & sleeping on benches or whatever until I find a place to crash. The weather ain’t that bad, even if it still gets pretty cool at night.

I’m in a gay bar in Allentown where mainly some old guys are talking about apprehending their house cleaner cleaning house while naked, and making sure I’m not mouthing the words I’m writing as I write them. Before this, I came from Rust Belt Books where I had a chat with the lady at the register, bought this book and some tobacco seeds, and dropped off some Singing Snake booklets.

The Singing Snake Project is one of the things I’m up to these days. If you were at Travonna this past Thursday, you heard part of it. Basically, it’s a story that I accidentally wrote a bunch of different versions of. Very, very different versions, in some cases. Unable to pick a favorite because that’s dumb, I decided to release all the versions at various places/times in various formats. Beyond that, I decided to release them under a Creative Commons license & encourage people to create even more versions and distribute them even more places and times and formats.

Every time I try to type “formats” I accidentally type “formates” and have to go back.

But yeah, the singing snake. The thing is, part of the conceit of the project is that it’s all off-line, so you can’t actually read any of the versions here or anywhere on the internet. This is a literary experiment and I have no idea how it’ll turn out, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen Creative Commons used for something distributed exclusively off-line, so why the hell not. This is not to say that e-book versions will never exist, because it’s possible to distribute e-books without the aid of the internet, such as through dead drops. There’s one right across the border and I forgot my fucking passport. There’s also one in Dayton, OH for some reason I don’t fuckin’ know.

This is what I mean when I talk about being frustrated with all conventional knowledge about being a writer. Our whole goddamn industry is still trying to mimic the methods of content creation and distribution that worked in the 30’s. Even when we try to make use of new technology, usually it’s in the same ways. I think this is best termed “poopcrap.”

Anyway, if you want to be part of the project you can always contact me and hope that it yields coherent results.

I also bought some tobacco seeds. Because they have those at bookstores in Buffalo.

In other news I’m reasonably sure my story in Niteblade is coming out in June, and I’m no longer sure why I insist on having a full-time job for the insurance. I got the horrible unstoppable puke sickness a few weeks back & to call off without being fired I needed a fucking doctor’s note, which despite my insurance ran me up a $243 bill. There goes a week’s work.

I’m about to pass out. Shit, what kind of tiredness is this? Do I need coffee or whiskey? I’m in a gay bar, so let’s try whiskey and hope.

Leave a Reply

