Fractious review/random thoughts on finishing George R. R. Martin’s ‘A Dance with Dragons’

Posted: 11/08/2011 in Uncategorized

  • Basically enjoyed it, but probably my least favorite installment of the series so far.
  • POV characters whose chapters were all they were cracked up to be: Jon Snow, Tyrion Lannister, Davos Seaworth, Theon Greyjoy, Asha Greyjoy, Quentyn Martell, Jon Connington
  • Melisandre is not as interesting a POV character as you would expect. Without looking at the book I could not tell you what happens in her one chapter to save my life.
  • My favorite characters are still Davos and Dolorous Edd. If you are a Dolorous Edd impersonator in Columbus who I can hire for parties, please e-mail me.
  • Found myself genuinely wishing that Rhaegal and Viserion would burn Meereen to the ground so we could move on. The intrigue going on there is basically like the intrigue going on in King’s Landing except that it’s happening to characters who are less interesting. Also feels like it’s taking longer to actually happen.
  • Areo Hotah is still a non-character who pops up when we need an omniscient narrator.
  • I like what’s going on with Wyman Manderly/White Harbor, too bad it takes up like 3% of the book.
  • I miss Jaime, Brienne and Sansa.
  • Have never been more sure of the identities of Jon Snow’s actual parents.
  • I like it when the series is cruel and people die.
Leave a Reply

